Show tunes: New York Fashion Week S/S 2014's runway playlist

Show tunes New York Fashion Week S/S 2014's runway playlist
Y-3's S/S 2014 New York Fashion Week show featured an original sound scape by Jiro Amimoto, accompanied by live drummers playing over the track
(Image credit: press)

Fashion week, these days, is about much more than just the collections. Showmanship is the name of game, and in the meticulously executed sartorial extravaganzas, the sound space is an element that no producer or designer can afford to overlook. Music royalty – past, present and future – is enlisted to ensure a full assault on the senses. Here, we bring you New York Fashion Week's catwalk mega mix from the S/S 2014 womenwear collections.

FRIDAY 06/09

Rag & Bone

'You Wouldn't Like Me When I'm Angry Mush Mx' by Thom Yorke, Nigel Godrich, Mauro Refosco and Jonny Greenwood



'Water Me' by FKA Twigs; 'Carbonated' by Mount Kimbie; 'Beaks Of Eagles (Fulgeance Remix)' by Kelpe;  'Odd Look ft The Weeknd' by Kavinsky

Music production: Michel Gaubert

Alexander Wang

'Simon Says' by Pharoahe Monch; 'I See I Say' by Ebony Bones; 'Masta Blasta' by Dillon Francis

Music production: Frédéric Sanchez


'Bermuda Dunes' by Schiller; Vivaldi's 'The Four Seasons Spring 1' recomposed by Max Richter; 'The Bent Invocation' by Spiritual Front

Music production: Sebastien Perrin for Streeters

Prabal Gurung

'My Dear Compagnion Awaits' by Rachel Grimes; 'Tirol Concerto For Piano And Orchestra - Movement II' by Philip Glass; 'Journey 2' by Max Richter

Music production: Sebastien Perrin for Streeters

SUNDAY 08/09

Victoria Beckham

'6 Underground' by Sneaker Pimps

Music production: Frédéric Sanchez


'We disappear' by Jon Hopkins; 'Open Eye Signal' by Jon Hopkins;  'I Was An Eagle' by Laura Marling; 'New Seeds' by Boards of Canada

Music production: Michel Gaubert


Original sound scape by Jiro Amimoto accompanied by live drummers playing over the track

Music production: Villa Eugenie


'Drummer Boy Soundtrack' by Larry Wright; 'Grinnin' in Your Face' by Son House; 'Crimson (Beat Ritual Mix)' by Pearson Sound; 'My Man (Toro Y Moi Remix)' by Billie Holiday (Verve Records); 'Junked' by Pev & Kowton; 'Funny Love' by King Midas Sound; 'We Don't Die' by Tricky and Nneka; 'Goin' Down South' by RL Burnside

Music production: Steve Mackey and John Gosling with Streeters

Opening Ceremony

'Yaaah Refix' by Myrryrs; 'Against A Wall' by Ryan Hemsworth; 'Tiger Rhythm' by Surkin; 'Perfectly' by Ryan Hemsworth; 'ATM Jam (Instrumental)' by Kaytranada; 'Body Party (Instrumental)' by Jacques Greene;  'Serial Killa' by SCNTST; 'Don't Be Shy (Wave Racer Remix)' by DCup

Music production: Ryan Hemsworth

MONDAY 09/09

Tommy Hilfiger

'Californication' by Red Hot Chili Peppers; 'Come Save Me' by Jagwar Ma; 'California Girls' by The Beach Boys; '1979' by the Smashing Pumpkins; 'Sun Is Shining' by Bob Marley; 'Surfin' USA' by The Beach Boys; 'Good Vibrations' by The Beach Boys

Music production: Steve Mackey and John Gosling

3.1 Phillip Lim

'Leave My Son In Peace' by Cliff Martinez; 'Bride of Chang' by Cliff Martinez; 'Cia' by Alina Luna; 'Walking In The Dust' by CFCF; 'Barracuda' by Heart

Music production: Sebastien Perrin

Donna Karan

'My Tribe' by Russ Landau & David Vanacore; 'Invisible Movies' by Adrian Enescu

Music production: Kevin Edwards

Thom Browne

'It's Oh So Quiet' by Bjork; 'Medication Valse' by Jack Nitzsche; 'O My Dear Papa' by Michael Nyman; 'One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest (Opening Theme)' by Jack Nitzsche; 'Charmaine' by Jack Nitzsche; 'Cvalda' by Bjork;  'Hommage A John Cage' by Nam June Paik; 'One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest (Closing Theme)' by Jack Nitzsche; 'Valentine's Day' by Klaus Nomi; 'Toy Boat' by Yoko Ono

Music production: Ben Brunnemer



'Donuts (outright)' by J Dilla; 'Workinonit' by J Dilla; 'Nothing Like This' by J Dilla; 'Waves' by J Dilla; 'A Face Without Eyes' by Nmesh; 'Jungle Love' by J Dilla

Music production: Michel Gaubert

'Confusion (instrumental)' by New Order; 'Leave Home' by The Chemical Brothers; 'Into the Groove(y)' by Ciccone Youth; 'She's Lost Control (Tronik Youth Shred-It mix)' by Joy Division; 'Blue Monday' by New Order

Music production: Michel Gaubert

Marc by Marc Jacobs

'WWPRD' by Jeffrey Lewis and The Rain; 'She Is On Fire' by King Tuff

Music production: Frédéric Sanchez

Narciso Rodriguez

'Junked' by Pev & Kowton; 'Waxen Pith' by Aphex Twin

Music production: Frédéric Sanchez


Michael Kors

'Never Going Back Again' by Fleetwood Mac; 'Never Going Back Again (Instrumental)' by Fleetwood Mac; 'Dream A Little Dream Of Me' by Mama Cass Elliot; 'Dream A Little Dream Of Me' by Vitamin String Quartet; 'Do You Want To Dance?' by Bette Midler

Music production:  Michel Gaubert

Proenza Schouler

'Paul's Theme (Cat People Soundtrack)' by Giorgio Moroder; 'The Apartment (American Gigolo Soundtrack)' by Giorgio Moroder; 'Theme (Midnight Express)' by Giorgio Moroder

Music production: Michel Gaubert

Reed Krakoff

'Supermayer Two Of Us' by Gregor Schwellenbach; 'The Sheltering Sky' by Ryuichi Sakamoto; 'Here Comes The Sun' by Nina Simone; 'Requiem Pour Un Con' by Serge Gainsbourg

Music production: Michel Gaubert


Original Soundtrack by Gomus


Ralph Lauren

'Nobody Told Me (2001 Digital Remaster)' by John Lennon; 'So Into You (Kevin Fleming Final Remix' by Atlanta Rhythm Section; 'Morning Flow (feat. Jenia Lubich)' by Malik Alary; 'Paris' by Jay-Jay Johanson

Calvin Klein Collection

'Cavern Wall' by Gray; 'Drum Mode' by Gray; 'A Sailboat In The Moonlight' by Billie Holiday; 'Don't Know If I'm Comin' or Goin' by Billie Holiday; 'Where Is The Sun' by Billie Holiday; 'One Never Knows, Does One' by Billie Holiday

Music production: Frédéric Sanchez

Marc Jacobs

'Main Title' by John Williams; 'Icct Hedral' by Aphex Twin

Music production: Frédéric Sanchez

Fashion Features Editor

Jack Moss is the Fashion Features Editor at Wallpaper*, joining the team in 2022. Having previously been the digital features editor at AnOther and digital editor at 10 and 10 Men magazines, he has also contributed to titles including i-D, Dazed, 10 Magazine, Mr Porter’s The Journal and more, while also featuring in Dazed: 32 Years Confused: The Covers, published by Rizzoli. He is particularly interested in the moments when fashion intersects with other creative disciplines – notably art and design – as well as championing a new generation of international talent and reporting from international fashion weeks. Across his career, he has interviewed the fashion industry’s leading figures, including Rick Owens, Pieter Mulier, Jonathan Anderson, Grace Wales Bonner, Christian Lacroix, Kate Moss and Manolo Blahnik.