Feast your eyes on the 2022 RIBA House of the Year longlist

Feast your eyes on the 2022 RIBA House of the Year longlist

The 2022 RIBA House of the Year longlist has been released

Every year the RIBA celebrates the best new designs in the UK, and the RIBA House of the Year announcement is always close to our heart, putting the spotlight on the architectural typology we are all using the most – homes. Now, the time has come for the reveal of the 2022 RIBA House of the Year longlist. Featuring larger homes, such as Norfolk Barn by 31/44 Architects and Taylor Made Space, and Derwent Valley Villa by Blee Halligan, as well as more boutique propositions, such as The Cowshed by Crawshaw Architects LLP, the longlist signals that the process to crown the country’s finest residential design in the single-family house category for 2022 has now begun. 

There are plenty of stand-outs on this year’s list, which spans the whole country. There is the highly sustainable architecture of the Ostro Passivhaus by Paper Igloo in Scotland; the first new build of an emerging, female-led London studio with Leyton House by McMahon Architecture Ltd; and the creative reimagining of existing urban fabric, such as Surbiton Springs by 2020 Wallpaper* Architects Directory entrants Surman Weston. There are playful designs and minimalist compositions, family homes, and weekend retreats, ground-up new constructions and smart extensions.

Surbiton Springs (London) by Surman Weston, on longlist for RIBA House of the Year 2022
Surbiton Springs (London) by Surman Weston. Photography: Johan Dehlin

2022 RIBA House of the Year longlist


  • Derwent Valley Villa (Derbyshire) by Blee Halligan 
  • House at Lough Beg (Northern Ireland) by McGonigle McGrath 
  • Leyton House (London) by McMahon Architecture Ltd 
  • Mere House (Cambridgeshire) by Mole Architects 
  • Mews House Deep Retrofit (London) by Prewett Bizley Architects 
  • Mountain View (London) by CAN 
  • Norfolk Barn (Norfolk) by 31/44 Architects and Taylor Made Space 
  • Ostro Passivhaus (Scotland) by Paper Igloo 
  • Peeking house (London) by Fletcher Crane Architects 
  • Ravine House (Derbyshire) by Chiles Evans + Care Architects Ltd 
  • Seabreeze (East Sussex) by RX Architects 
  • Suffolk Cottage (Suffolk) by Haysom Ward Miller Architects 
  • Surbiton Springs (London) by Surman Weston 
  • The Cowshed (Dorset) by Crawshaw Architects LLP 
  • The Den (Scotland) by Technique Architecture and Design in collaboration with Stallan-Brand 
  • The Dutch Barn (West Sussex) by Sandy Rendel Architects Ltd 
  • The Garden Studio (Norfolk) by Brisco Loran and James Alder Architect 
  • The Library House (London) by Macdonald Wright Architects  
  • The Parchment Works (Suffolk) by Will Gamble Architects 
  • The Red House (Dorset) by David Kohn Architects 

Anticipation will now grow till the autumn, when the shortlist, and eventually, the winner will be announced. Dates and timings are still to be confirmed, but as in previous years, the gradual reveal will take place on UK television screens, as part of the seventh series of Channel 4’s Grand Designs: House of the Year. §

Wallpaper* Newsletter

Wallpaper* is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more.

© Future Publishing Limited Quay House, The Ambury, Bath BA1 1UA. All rights reserved. England and Wales company registration number 2008885.