Category winners are announced for the Designs of the Year 2014

Category winners are announced for the Designs of the Year 2014

Zaha Hadid, Konstantin Grcic and Miuccia Prada are amongst the heavyweights slugging it out for this year’s Designs of the Year award. London’s Design Museum today announced the seven category winners of its annual survey of design excellence, with Grcic again taking the furniture gong, this time for his PRO family of chairs, designed to keep children moving while sat in class. Apparently a good thing. In the Architecture category, Hadid and Patrik Schumacher picked up the award for their Heydar Aliyev Center in Baku, Azerbaijan, seeing off competition from David Chipperfield and John Pawson amongst others, while Prada scooped the fashion award for its S/S 2014 collection.

PEEK (Portable Eye Examination Kit), a smart phone-based optical health kit took the Digital prize and Volkswagen’s XL1 car, an ultra-efficient diesel hybrid (which actually looks like the car of the future), won the Rransport category. The Seaboard Grand designed by Roland Lamb and Hong-Yeul Eom, which actually looks like the piano of the future and has wave of responsive-in-a-new-way soft keys, allowing for all sorts of advanced noodling, won the product category. The graphics nod was given to James Bridle for Drone Shadows, actual size outlines of military drones, which have appeared in the UK, Brazil and the US, amongst other places.

The seven winners were whittled down from 76 nominations by a jury including writer and broadcaster Ekow Eshun; Ben Terrett, director of design at the Government Digital Service (and the winner of last year’s overall award for the redesign of the website); Kim Colin of Industrial Facility; and Piers Gough. The overall Designs of the Year 2014 award will be announced on June 30 and the Designs of the Year exhibition runs at the Design Museum until August 25.

Wallpaper* Newsletter

Wallpaper* is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more.

© Future Publishing Limited Quay House, The Ambury, Bath BA1 1UA. All rights reserved. England and Wales company registration number 2008885.