The Neri&Hu deisgned Aranya Art Center in China
Rosanna Hu has been revealed as one of the jury members for the RIBA International Awards 2020. Pictured here, the Neri&Hu deisgned Aranya Art Center in China. 
(Image credit: Pedro Pegenaute)

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) has revealed the grand jury for the 2020 RIBA International Prize. Led by Odile Decq, the selection includes Es Devlin as lay juror, Jeanne Gang, Rossana Hu and Gustavo Utrabo.

This year the jurors show a great breadth of skills within the architecture profession and a diverse spread of international experience. French architect and urban planner, Decq, is currently working on a residential project in Barcelona. Practicing in the US is Gang, founding partner of Studio Gang, headquartered in Chicago. From Shanghai, is Rossana Hu, founding partner of Shanghai based Neri&Hu. While London based Es Devlin OBE, artist and stage designer, will bring her international, creative lens to the selection process.

Representing the previous edition of the RIBA International Prize is architect Gustavo Utrabo, principal at Estúdio Gustavo Utrabo. Utrabo was the winner of the 2018 RIBA International Prize and Emerging Architect Prize for Children Village by Aleph Zero. Wallpaper* interviewed Aleph Zero’s Utrabo and Petro Duschene in 2018 after the prize was awarded. What made their project special was its strong social purpose and the collaborative nature of the design process.

‘The RIBA International Prize is a beautiful initiative that aims to recognise great architecture on a global scale by way of an insightful process. I’m looking forward to being part of it and discovering meaningful approaches to space, society and the environment that contribute to our collective future,’ says Utrabo.

As well as celebrating architecture that shows design innovation, sustainable technologies and meaningful social impact, the biennial RIBA International Awards also takes the opportunity to celebrate future talent with the RIBA International Emerging Architect Prize, that recognizes individuals practicing for up to 10 years. Then there’s also the RIBA International Awards for Excellence that awards 20 outstanding, boundary-stretching buildings.

In next year, the jury will visit the four shortlisted projects (as yet to be announced) in person to experience the construction, atmosphere and impact of the buildings: ‘The RIBA International Prize has an incredibly important focus – to discover the best architecture for a better life – and I look forward to travelling the world to find a worthy winner,’ says Decq.

This prize is a chance for RIBA to look beyond the UK. It’s open to any qualified architect for buildings, of any size and budget, anywhere in the world (apart from the UK). Entries to the prize close 31 October 2019, and the winner will be announced November 2020.

The Children Village, winner of the 2018 RIBA International Awards, designed by Aleph Zero

The Children Village, winner of the 2018 RIBA International Awards, designed by Aleph Zero

(Image credit: Aleph Zero)

Memory Palace at Pitzhanger, an installation by Es Devlin

Memory Palace at Pitzhanger, an installation by Es Devlin

(Image credit: Es Devlin)


Harriet Thorpe is a writer, journalist and editor covering architecture, design and culture, with particular interest in sustainability, 20th-century architecture and community. After studying History of Art at the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS) and Journalism at City University in London, she developed her interest in architecture working at Wallpaper* magazine and today contributes to Wallpaper*, The World of Interiors and Icon magazine, amongst other titles. She is author of The Sustainable City (2022, Hoxton Mini Press), a book about sustainable architecture in London, and the Modern Cambridge Map (2023, Blue Crow Media), a map of 20th-century architecture in Cambridge, the city where she grew up.