RIBA announces new jury member for International Prize

RIBA announces new jury member for International Prize

Following RIBA’s December announcement on a new International Prize, awarded – in partnership with Wallpaper*, no less –  to ’the world’s best new building’, the UK architectural institution has announced a new name to the judges award’s panel.

Chaired by Richard Rogers and thus far including the ascendent Netherlands-based architect Kunlé Adeyemi of NLÉ Projects and London based architect Philip Gumuchdjian of Gumuchdjian Architects (also Chair of RIBA’s awards committee), the jury will now also feature Marilyn Jordan Taylor, Dean and Paley Professor at the University of Pennsylvania School of Design in Philadelphia.

On top of this, the RIBA has revealed plans for a major new honour, alongside 2016’s inaugural International Prize. The RIBA International Emerging Architect Prize will be awarded to a building designed by a practice ’whose oldest founding director is under the age of 40 at the time of the building’s completion’, explain the organisers.

The quest for the world’s top architects and the most exciting building of 2016 is about to begin. Members of the jury are set to visit a long list of 20 projects later in the year to draw up their shortlist of six, which will then be revisited in order to select and announce the overall winner at the end of the year.

’I’m delighted to lead the jury for the inaugural RIBA International Prize, and look forward to discovering how architecture is reacting to and resolving issues posed by the changing demands of a global community,’ says Rogers. ’We look forward to establishing the RIBA International Prize as a new standard by which to assess and promote design excellence on a global scale.’

With entries for the international prize closing on the 8 March and the jury line-up finalised on the same month, there’s only a few weeks left for architects around the world to submit their buildings for consideration. Watch this space. 

© TI Media Limited. Wallpaper* is part of TI Media Limited. All Rights Reserved.