singing on mike
(Image credit: press)

Showmanship is almost as important as the clothes at the Menswear Collections, and if clothes make the man, it’s the production - and all that encompasses - that makes the show. Meticulous planning goes into each sartorial extravaganza and music is an element that no producer can afford to be blasé about.

This season’s soundtracks reflect this intense process, and the names below read like a roster of music royalty – past and present. Common themes do arise and an overarching presence of über-cool remixes and classic tracks abound throughout the productions of DJs like Michel Gaubert and Frederic Sanchez – names that hold as much weight as the artists they so carefully select.

<style type="text/css">

h3.soundtrack {padding:4px 4px 2px 4px; margin:0 0 10px 0; font-size: 10px; font-weight: bold; text-transform: uppercase; color: #666; background-color: #e5e5e5; line-height: 10px; }

h4.soundtrack {padding:0; margin:0 0 1px 0; font-size: 11px; font-weight: bold; color: #333; }

div#column_two p.producer {padding-top: 0; margin-top: 0; color: #666;}

div#column_two p {padding-top: 0; margin-top: 0;}

div#column_two {padding-top: 0; margin-top: 0; position: relative; top:-14px;}


Colourless Colour – La Roux, In For The Kill – La Roux, Bulletproof – La Roux

Live performance by La Roux

Quoth – Polygon Window, I got a Feeling – Shit Robot

Music production: Jeff Judd

Sähkörausku - Mika Vainio, Fluss Im Wasser - Thomas Fehlmann, Solid Sound - Factory Floor, Fornication In Space - Frankie Chan & Roel A. García, Aguirre - Popol Vuh, Words With The Shaman Part 2(incantation) - David Sylvian, Pharaohs - Tears For Fears, Joyeux Regrets Imprécis - Benjamin Lew, Silence – Portishead

Music production: Frédéric Sanchez

In the Light - Led Zeppelin, El Din (Part Two) - Shackleton, Dramatic Theme - Pink Floyd, Majorelles - Alain Chamfort, Hammam - Jerry De Sario, Hilal - U-Cef feat. Mirror System, Solo Darbuka - Chalf Hassan,

Hammam – Naguila, Let's Spend the Night Together - The Rolling Stones, Khalliouni Khalliouni - 123 Soleil & The Egyptian Orchestra

Music production: Mode-F

The Gift - The Velvet Underground

Music production: Dries Van Noten team

Gin Soaked Boy - Tom Waits, Les Baricades Mistérieuses - Elaine Comparone, Virginia Avenue - Tom Waits, Ol'55 - Tom Waits, Les Baricades Mistérieuses - Elaine Comparone, I Hope I Don't Fall In Love With You - Tom Waits, Les Sentiments. Sarabande - Blandine Verlet & François Couperin, Ice Cream Man - Tom Waits

Music production: Jiro Amimoto

Idris – The New Mastersounds, Panama City – The Quantic Soul Orchestra, Soul Power – Various Artists, Thermal Bad – The New Mastersounds

Cry, The Clock Said - Gary Numan, Yanvalou - Drummers of the Societe Absolument Guinin, Congo - Drummers of the Societe Absolument Guinin feat. Voodoo Drums

Sound production: Michel Gaubert

Before Tigers – Health, Anna Mae – Dragons of Zynth, Year of Silence – Crystle Castles, SHT MTN – Holy Fuck

Music production: Hellskitschen (Fabrice Acet and Christophe Martinon)

The Rite – Lisa Gerrard, La Salida de Lima – Gustavo Santaolalla, Captain America – Kill for Total Peace, Shockwork – Test Dept, Agorn (Elements of complex variables) – The Glass Family Electric Band, Frontier – Dead Can Dance

Music production: Hellskitschen (Fabrice Acet and Christophe Martinon)

Masked ball - Jocelyn Pook, Cry little sister - Gerard mcMann, Mask - Bauhaus

Sound production: Frédéric Sanchez

2046 Main Theme (With Percussion) - Shigeru Umebayashi, Interlude (Instrumental) - Shigeru Umebayashi, Dark Chariot (Instrumental) - Peer Raben, 2046 Main Theme (With Percussion Train Remix, Instrumental) - Shigeru Umebayashi

Music production: Laurent Ballot, Nano de Clausel and Alexander Maxwell @ Mode-F

India Song (bande originale du film) - Carlos d'Alessio, Big Jet Plane – Angus & Julia Stone, Because - The Beatles, Who Makes Your Money – Spoon, VCR (Matthew Dear remix) - The XX, Dance Yrself Clean - LCD Sound System

Starla - Smashing Pumpkins, The Downward Spiral - Nine Inch Nails, Tonight, Tonight - Smashing Pumpkins

Sound production: Michel Gaubert

Cosmic Wheels – Donovan, Set Phasers to Stun – The Time and Space Machine, Masters of the Universe – Hawkwind, Whole Lotta Love (excerpt) - Led Zeppelin, Misty Mountain - Silver Apples, You Are The One – The Time and Space Machine, Immigrant Song - Led Zeppelin

Music production: Peter Smith and Andrew Hale

Only Love Can Break Your Heart - Saint Etienne, Waltz Darling - Malcolm McLaren

Music production: Kim Jones and Simon Parris

Fitter Happier – Radiohead, Requiem For Soprano, Mezzo Soprano, Two Mixed Choirs and Orchestra – Francis Travis, The Blue Danube - Herbert von Karajan, Space Oddity - David Bowie

Music production: Michel Gaubert

Fashion Features Editor

Jack Moss is the Fashion Features Editor at Wallpaper*, joining the team in 2022. Having previously been the digital features editor at AnOther and digital editor at 10 and 10 Men magazines, he has also contributed to titles including i-D, Dazed, 10 Magazine, Mr Porter’s The Journal and more, while also featuring in Dazed: 32 Years Confused: The Covers, published by Rizzoli. He is particularly interested in the moments when fashion intersects with other creative disciplines – notably art and design – as well as championing a new generation of international talent and reporting from international fashion weeks. Across his career, he has interviewed the fashion industry’s leading figures, including Rick Owens, Pieter Mulier, Jonathan Anderson, Grace Wales Bonner, Christian Lacroix, Kate Moss and Manolo Blahnik.