Crystal conscious

Winners of Swarovski’s third annual Designers of the Future Award present their projects at Design Miami/ Basel

Read more

The forward-thinking award winners were selected by a panel of expert judges for their vanguard approach and future-seeking use of new technologies. This year’s trio of sparkling creatives are Taiwanese architect Jimenez Lai, Tokyo’s Takt Project, and Dutch designer Marjan van Aubel.

Using Swarovski’s storied crystals as inspiration, each designer was challenged to create a project on the theme of sustainability – ’whether it’s up-cycling or the implementation of solar energy or the implementation of cutting edge 3D printing technology,’ explains board member Nadja Swarovski

The designers have merged their creations into one, cohesive environment for Design Miami/Basel, in an immersive installation that seems to sum up the Award’s motto, ’the future is bright’. Until 19 June. Courtesy Gillian Dobias / Laura Bushell

Read less

Wallpaper* Newsletter

Wallpaper* is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more.

© Future Publishing Limited Quay House, The Ambury, Bath BA1 1UA. All rights reserved. England and Wales company registration number 2008885.